Therapy vacation coming up… :/

Dr C will be on vacation for a month starting in about 2 weeks. I’m not sure what I want to do during that time. She gave me the option of being set up with someone else while she is away, kinda a check-in thing. I told her I needed to think about it. She mentioned having someone that will cover for her in case of emergencies. I wanted to remind her that I would likely not bother that person, but I remained silent and nodded… I’m not really in a place of definitely needing someone to talk to while she is gone, but I also know it’s hard going even 1.5 weeks between appointments because of holidays… I know I’d be overall fine at the end of the month, but getting to the end of the month will be difficult.

She’s also considering having someone take over and run the group for her while she is gone. That would be good, since I think all of us have her as our therapist.

If I see someone while she’s gone, not only will I be keeping it all surface stuff, but I’ll have to do the copay at the time of the sessions… I hope she can find someone to cover the group. At least that copay would be cheaper (by a lot)…

At least she’ll be here for the shitty anniversary… hopefully once that’s over, I’ll be able to balance better.

3 responses to “Therapy vacation coming up… :/

  • Rachel

    Therapy vacations are really hard. Have you used a sub therapist before? Wondering if just having someone could feel grounding, a month is a long time without any support.

    • Samantha Jane

      I can’t remember if I had her as my individual therapist at the time she went away for three months, or if I was still seeing someone else for individual and her only for group… I’m assuming I would have seen someone else if she was my individual therapist because I wouldn’t have been in a great space at the time… I don’t know…
      It’s hard to talk to someone new. I’m not sure what I’d use them for, but at the same time, a month feels so very long… I guess it’s something we’ll need to address relatively soon.

  • Laura Black

    I feel your pain! I absolutely hate it when my therapist goes away. And I never want to see someone else in her absence. But funnily enough, I always manage just about OK until she returns. But it is tough I really do know x

What are your thoughts?

