New art journals

I realized earlier today I forgot to post the journal class project… didn’t end up doing what I had intended, but it’s OK. The art has a life of its own. It’s not totally finished, but this is as far as I got (and I’m not sure what else it needs)…

image

I was originally going to do “my 5 strengths” but I ended up putting the guy in the corner. It felt appropriate to flick him off the page. Then I accidentally smudged it, and it looked like he was being rained on from the umbrella… I guess he represents the things I need to get rid of this year (or try to: depression, hopelessness, fear, ptsd, self harm, suicidal ideation, flashbacks)… still unsure what else to put in this piece, but it’s got meaning (and again the darkest subject matter in class). Whatever, right?

Two nights ago, I finished this piece. The background was done one night, the words two nights later… more lyrics that mean something (words fail you by Kris Delmhorst)… words often fail me, but images can be more reliable.

image

It also did not turn out exactly how I had intended, but close enough. I may add to it at some point, but I’m not sure I want to. The original layer is torn pages from APA’S journal of psychotherapy. Fitting that words and neat categories are covered by the darkness. Sometimes there are highlights, but the tiles holding the words are falling… because words fail sometimes.

Heard Kat Dahlia‘s “gangsta” again on a show tonight. I know I had noted liking her music when I heard it somewhere else, but I had lost the Shazam tag before I could find the song. Got it again tonight and proceeded to download the song. I guess her album is not available in the us till Tuesday… I like what I’ve heard so far. I’ll probably get the album when it comes out. She kinda reminds me of a cross between Angel Haze and Kat Von Dee… and she used a rainstorm in this song… worth checking out.

What are your thoughts?

