Being sick sucks

I was fine until Monday night when I noticed my throat felt weird. By 3 am Tuesday morning, I was awake with severe congestion and a sore throat. By 8 am Tuesday, I crawled back into bed willing my head not to explode. I called out for today’s appointment figuring I didn’t want to get anyone else sick. It was a good thing too, because I didn’t last more than a few minutes at a time upright today. Thankfully, we had an arsenal of various cold medicines at home and I started on the ginger tea early enough. Tonight I was actually able to sit up on the couch and watch TV for about 4 hours. Ok, so I didn’t totally pay attention and I may have nodded of a few times, but I was out of bed for 4 whole hours! That’s huge compared to the last 48 hours.
Tomorrow night is the journal class, but I don’t think I’ll subject everyone to my gems. I found out from the teacher that she will be doing that particular class again at a different location, so I’ll still get to do it (about overcoming the hurdles in our lives). It sounds like a really cool class, so I’m glad I will be able to do it at another time.
I am really missing therapy though. Between the body memories from last session and the really whacky nightmares the cold meds have given me (a combination of really trippy horror-movie-style nightmares and body memories), I’m incredibly triggered but unable to ground effectively. This is the first time in a while that being sick has made things worse instead of better. Normally being sick and sleeping so much gives me a break from my head. This time is amplified everything, only I have no energy to ground or distract… I hope I’ll be able to talk about it with TL when I see her next week. I tend to go in with ideas of what to cover but I get flustered and don’t bring it up. This stuff would likely fall under that category. It’s all body memories that are shameful and embarrassing. I have a hard time addressing stuff like that…
Anyway. Not quite sure where I was going with this post and now the next round of cold meds is starting to kick in… hopefully the cold will be gone soon and I can get on with life. 

What are your thoughts?

