Random stupid question

Do you really have to love yourself before you can truly love others?
I resent it when I’m told that I can’t love others if I don’t love myself, because I don’t feel like I love myself, but I can certainly feel genuine and deep love for others. It’s invalidating to hear that statement when I know I deeply care for and love many people…

Thoughts?

2 responses to “Random stupid question

  • andreabehindglass

    I totally agree that you don’t have to love yourself to love others. I have absolute confidence that your love is real.

    • Samantha Jane

      so why is it that people say that so often? what motivates that sentiment? what brings about the exceptions to that “rule”…
      just wondering… I guess it can ring true for some people, but then why do we (as a society) feel the need to use is as absolute truth for everyone? I know many times people mean well when they say it, but I don’t think they understand how invalidating it can be to someone who doesn’t love themselves for whatever reason, yet does truly love others…

What are your thoughts?

