losing understanding

Recently (like in the last 4 months or so), something weird has been happening to me when I get stressed, mostly when I start to dissociate: I can be listening to someone, but what they say suddenly no longer makes any sense. I can understand the individual words they are saying, but cannot put meaning to the sentence or sentiment. It most recently happened in my last therapy session. TL was asking me questions, and I couldn’t understand what she was saying. I told her this, and she suggested that maybe she was being too abstract in her dialogue. Since I have not worked with her long, I kinda just went with it (maybe she is and I’m just stressing a lot in session). But this wasn’t the first time it happened to me. It has happened before with De also, and sometimes it happens when I’m talking to people about other random things. I can hear the words, I can know I know their individual meaning, but I can’t string those meanings together to get the full gist of what the person is saying. It’s very frustrating.

Has anyone else had anything like this? It’s kinda disturbing…

2 responses to “losing understanding

  • S.G

    I don’t know if it’s the same thing, but yes I get something similar where I can’t concentrate not matter how hard I try on the words my T is saying.I hear her and the words but can’t formulate them into any meaning. I often ask her to repeat what she said and sometimes I’ll pick up what she asked. I think the difficulty comes from being overwhelmed.

  • solacetiger

    YES. Being tired and stressed makes it worse. But sometimes it appears seemingly from nowhere. All ya can do is step back, take a deep breath and try to start over. *sigh*

What are your thoughts?

